Still Alice, When Alzheimer’s Strikes

Hearts are turned inside out, when Alzheimer’s arrives at our doorstep.

unsplash, coffee, laptop

Not long ago I read the book Still Alice and a few days ago watched the movie version of the book.

The book and the movie brought tears to my eyes. The writers of the book and the movie, brought the emotion of an intelligent educated woman who experienced the early onset of Alzheimer’s and opened her heart bare before us.

The book and movie reveals to us everyday raw emotion in an impossible situation. The deep struggle of the woman, when she received the diagnosis, along with losing touch with everything dear to her.

The adult children grappling with the fact that the day would arrive when the mother they loved would not recognize their faces.

A husband who loved his wife dearly, grappling with his wife’s illness. At the beginning denial, and a continued all consuming love for his wife, and his adult children as her mind descended into blankness.

For a few minutes I pressed pause for the video, because this story was taking me back to  a time long ago.

I recall the day my Grandfather visited our home. He was sitting in a chair in our living room with his head in his hands. He was crying, and repeating over and over, “I can’t find my way home. I don’t know how to get home.”

My mother stood next to him and was trying to console him.

I have never forgotten that day, because this was the day we all realized my Grandfather was no longer able to be alone.

You see, my Grandfather lived in a house a short distance from  my parent’s. For me this experience was sudden.

My Grandfather was not as young as the Alice we read about in the book or watch in the movie. He was elderly, but this did not make it any easier. The Grandfather who was always in my life from the day I was born, was gone.

Today I was looking through a few photos from long ago. One of the photos touched my heart and brought a smile to my lips. It is a photo of my Grandfather holding my tiny little daughter, who is now not far from being 40 years old.

It is a special photo, that I will cherish forever and eventually I will pass it on to my daughter who is the baby he is holding.

Emotion, tears, anger, rejection, sadness, joy, rage, denial, loss, love, perseverance. All real emotions we will experience in our lives. Raw, revealing, and hearts exposed to the reader and movie watcher.

To my writing friends; don’t be afraid to reveal emotions in your writing. In this way we will touch the hearts of our readers in ways that may even bring healing to their lives.

 

 

Author: Nancy J.

Relationship Conference leader -online/ offline, writer, woman on mission, with a passion for life.

Leave a Reply

